Starting today, Facebook is launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger – whether it’s to one person or a group.
The new feature is very handy in cases you have accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply want to remove a message in a chat.
Simply tap on the message you want to remove and select the option to “Remove for Everyone”. The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed. You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent.
If you want to remove a message just for yourself, you can still do that anytime by selecting “Remove for You”. When you choose this option, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat.
The remove message for everyone feature is available for Messenger users around the world on the latest versions of iOS and Android.
Nearly a year ago, Facebook promised to implement this feature for all users after it was discovered that the social networking giant was quietly removing old messages sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg and other higher-ups within the company.
In related news, Facebook is reportedly working on pulling Instagram direct messages into businesses' Facebook page inboxes.
That would allow businesses to handle messages from both platforms in the Pages Manager app on mobile and the web, according to Axios. Currently, the only private conversations page managers can address within the app are from Messenger.
The function would exist only on the front-end for business page managers. Users would not be able to see the difference when their message is answered.
Meanwhile, though Facebook has discussed ways to make money from messages, it doesn't currently have plans to monetize Messenger and Instagram DMs, Axios reports.
A report last month suggested that Facebook is working to unify messages across Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp.